thunderstormthunderstrong

[eng] “No creature stands alone. The air is the breath of the forest that has been going on since thousands of years. And the plants are the breath’s figures, provisional incarnations of substances that wander in the air. There is carbon and the lightning of electrons and there is woman, the cat, the ant. Each one of us is an ephemeral aggregate made of the life’s bricks: rather than coming from a sexual intercourse, we are the sons of the conversation between things.” (Franco Arminio, my trans.)

And today as I ate lunch made of biodynamic Australian rice flavoured with organic carrots and bokchoy from the coop of food that comes from local lands face to face with a bearded dragon lizard waiting for anything that might fall off my fork while speedy ants strolled on its looks like rough skin the wind warned me that a storm was coming and the smell of eucalyptus became intense humid. I was scared before as the water poured down like I had seldom seen in my life. “I think that the root of the wind is water” (Emily Dickinson)

[ita] “Nessuna creatura è un caso a parte. L’aria è il respiro della foresta che va avanti da milioni di anni. E le piante sono figure del respiro, incarnazioni provvisorie delle sostanze che vagano nell’aria. C’è il carbonio e il lampo degli elettroni e c’è la donna, il gatto, la formica. Ognuno di noi è un aggregato effimero fatto con i mattoni della vita: più che di un amplesso, siamo figli della conversazione tra le cose.” (Franco Arminio)

E così mentre oggi mangiavo il pranzo composto da riso biodinamico australiano condito con carote e bokchoy biologici della cooperativa del cibo che viene dalle terre locali faccia a faccia con un lucertolone chiamato bearded dragon in attesa di un qualcosa che cascasse dalla mia forchetta mentre formiche rapide passeggiavano sulla sua pelle che sembra ruvida il vento mi ha avvisata che stava arrivando un temporale e l’odore di eucalipto si faceva intenso umido. Ho avuto paura prima mentre l’acqua scendeva come poche volte avevo visto in vita mia. “Penso che la radice del vento sia l’acqua” (Emily Dickinson, mia trad.)

Foto: Martina Lepori

Ni la tIerra, ni las mUjeres somos territorio de coNquistA

“I strolled past the Bauhinia tree one hot summer’s day a few years ago, and so quickly it caught my gaze and my thoughts. What a place to be and meditate on a quiet afternoon! I think of it often, and have planned to visit many times, but I never get there. Maybe this year I will visit my tree, where I can spend those lonely hours contemplating and praying. I think of the sandy creek bed where it grew from a seed. How did it manage to establish its roots after so many floods threatened to wash away its very foundations?” The Bauhinia Tree, The life of Kankawa Nagarra Olive Knight

[eng] One month ago a blockade was started at Deebing Creek, against housing development between Springfield and Ipswich on sacred and mourning Aboriginal land. As I woke up that morning, I strolled down to the Bunya pine tree on a not-yet-so-hot summer’s day. I stood in front of it and wondered how many people it had sensed throughout its life. I talked to it and asked: what could you tell me about the mission times? A persistent sense of melancholy permeated the peaceful beauty around us. What if this place disappeared? I think of Earth where it grew from a Seed. Will they manage to keep grounded after so many conquests?

[ita] Un mese fa è iniziata una protesta a Deebing Creek, contro lo sviluppo edilizio tra Springfield ed Ipswich su terra aborigena, sacra e di lutto. Appena sveglia quella mattina, son scesa giù verso il pino Bunya in un giorno ancora non così caldo. Mi son piantata di fronte, chiedendomi quante persone avesse percepito durante la sua vita. Gli ho parlato e chiesto di raccontarmi qualcosa dei tempi della missione. Un costante senso di malinconia si percepiva nella bellezza attorno a noi. E se questo luogo scomparisse? Penso alla Terra da cui è cresciuto da un Seme. Riusciranno a restare stabili dopo tante conquiste?

This page for updates and donations: Yuggera Ugarapul Tribal Elders.